

The Foster faction in the Communist Party leadership appears to have made new headway in its drive for full control of the party apparatus, according to a very scanty news report in the Feb. 23 Worker on the meeting of the CP national committee held the weekend of Feb. 16. This is also indicated by reports in the New York Times.

Principal evidence of the Fosterite gain is contained in the report of a partial election of a new national executive committee by the national committee. The size of the NEC was reduced from 22 to 15. Nine members were elected with six to be added at an unspecified date. Of those elected, only one. Micky Lima, chairman of the party's Northern California district, has taken a clear-cut stand in the past against the Foster faction.

Sid Stein, national organization secretary, who had sharply challenged both the Fosterites and Eugene Dennis at the December meeting of the old NEC, was not among those elected. The nine are: Ben Davis, Eugene Dennis, Elizabeth Gurley Flynn, James Jackson, Micky Lima, Hy Lumer, George Myers, Jack Stachel and Robert Thompson. At least five of these are openly committed to the Foster faction.

According to the Times, the meeting adopted a resolution on the hotly disputed Moscow declaration of 12 Soviet-orbit Communist parties which appears to represent a compromise between the Fosterites who have fought for endorsement of the declaration and those who opposed such endorsement as signifying reacceptance of the political domination of the Kremlin.

The N.Y. Times further reports an appeal to the meeting by New York party leaders and Worker staff members associated with the grouping that had been headed by former Daily Worker editor John Gates. The appeal is described as charging the Fosterites with an attempt to purge the remaining Gatesites from their posts and that as a result the morale of the remaining New York membership is at a new low.

ship is at a new row. The reported signers of the appeal are: George Blake Charney, Albert Blumberg, Simon Gerson, Abner Berry, Jesus Colon, Max Gordon, Morris Schappes, George Watt and William Lawrence.