Communist Party In U.S. Elects New Leadership

The National Committee of the Communist Party, meeting in New York, July 27-28, approved the appointment of nine secretaries to serve as the "collective leadership" of the party, according to the Aug. 2 Daily Worker. Seven of the nine will comprise the party's administrative committee.

The nine are: Eugene Dennis, national affairs; Sid Stein, organization: Benjamin Davis, Negro affairs; James Jackson, Southern affairs: Hy Lumer. education and publications; Fred Fine, labor affairs; John Gates. public affairs; Earl Durham, youth work; and Carl Ross, farm work. The latter two are not members of the administrative committee.

Those elected replace the temporary eleven-man administrative committee which was established following the party's convention last February. The eleven were selected on a resident basis by the 20 members of the national committe who were elected directly by the convention.

FOSTER DROPPED

Of the eleven temporary members, the following were dropped from the permanent administrative committee: William Z. Foster, George Blake Charnev, Doxie Wilkerson and Charles Lohman. A majority of the present committee are not committed to either the Foster or Gates wings of the leadership and a number of them are known as supportens of Eugene Dennis.

number of them are known as supportens of Eugene Dennis. The system of selecting "secretaries," is a newly-devised substitute for the traditional party procedure of having the convention elect such officers as national chairman and national secretary. The division among the party leaders at the last convention made it impossible for them to agree upon such officers, despite their claim of having achieved a "high degree of unity" at the convention.