RED LEADER UNIT SET UP

U.S. Party Names 9 Secretaries to Controlling Group

The Communist party of the United States announced yesterday that its national committee had approved a "collective leadership" of nine secretaries. They are Eugene Dennis, Sid Stein, Benjamin F. Davis, James Jackson, Hy Lumer, Fred M. Fine, John Gates, Earl Durham and Carl Ross.

Forty-nine members of the sixty-four-member committee attended a quarterly meeting last Saturday and Sunday at party headquarters, 23 West Twenty-sixth Street, according to the announcement.

It said the committee urged support of efforts to end atomic bomb tests and called for rebuilding the party according to a program that was outlined. The statement also said the committee urged intensified efforts to win amnesty for party leaders still in jail for conspiracy to teach and advocate the violent overthrow of the Government.

The New York Times

Published: August 2, 1957 Copyright © The New York Times