## U. S. REDS REVISE EXECUTIVE GROUP

Continued Division in the Party Is Manifest as 13 of 20 Members Are Dropped

By HARRY SCHWARTZ

A major shake-up has taken place in the national leadership of the Communist party in this country.

Only seven of the twenty members of the party's National Executive Committee elected last spring were re-elected at a meeting of the full sixty-member national committee last week-end. The National Executive Committee directs the normal operations of the party.

A resolution adopted by the National Committee last weekend indicated that the recent resignation of John Gates, editor of The Daily Worker before it was discontinued, had not ended the divisions among American Communists.

The resolution hailed last November's Moscow declaration issued by the Soviet Union and eleven other ruling Communist parties, as a "document of far-reaching, historic importance," and said American Communists "should study it and learn from it." The Moscow declaration laid down strategy to be followed by Communists throughout the world.

Difference of opinion in the party on the wisdom of the move was indicated by the resolution's denunciation of those who attacked the declaration as a reversal of earlier Communist policy. It condemned as well those accused of regarding the declaration as a "dogma and a substitute for our own independent theoretical and political work."

The resolution's author was Eugene Dennis, party secretary, who has headed the centrist faction of the party as opposed to the rightest supporters of Mr. Gates and the all out pro-Soviet faction of William Z. Foster and Benjamin Davis, Mr. Dennis' resolution as adopted attacked not only "right opportunism," but also the "ultra-left viewpoint,"

Aside from Mr. Gates, the most notable figures who were

not re-elected to the National Executive Committee were Mr. Foster, who has been reported very ill, George Blake Charney, New York Communist leader who was closely aligned with Mr. Gates in the past, and the party secretaries, Sidney Stein and Fred Fine.

The new National Executive Committee included these seven hold overs: Mr. Davis, Mr. Dennis, Elizabeth Gurley Flynn, James E. Jackson, Albert J. Lima, Hy Lumer, and George Meyers. The two new members are Jack Stachel and Robert Thompson. Six more members are to be elected.

## The New York Times