Declination of Nomination for the National Executive Board of the SDP (August 18, 1900)

To the Social Democratic Party.

Comrades:-

I respectfully decline nomination as a member of the National Executive Board.¹ I have served my time in that capacity and now step aside to make room for another. My decision is unalterable, and the Secretary [Theodore Debs] will please strike my name from the list of nominees.

In severing my relations with the board it is due my colleagues to say that during the two years of our incumbency I found them always loyal to the party, steadfast in their devotion to socialism, and true to every obligation, official and personal. Each of them has my thanks and all of them I hold in affectionate esteem.

The new board will have my unqualified allegiance and support. After the campaign, to which I owe, and shall contribute, my best energies, I shall have time and opportunity to organize and otherwise work in the interest of the party, and this I shall do, although in an unofficial capacity, with all the zeal and ability I can command.

Thanking my comrades for the honor intended, which is appreciated quite as much as if it had been accepted, I remain,

Yours fraternally,

Eugene V. Debs.

Published as "Debs Declines" in *Social Democratic Herald*, vol. 3, no. 9, whole no. 111 (August 18, 1900), pg. 4.

¹ The March 1900 convention of the Social Democratic Party approved a new constitution, subsequently ratified by referendum vote of the membership with the final tally of 801-50 announced on July 7. The new document called for replacement of the five member National Executive Board with a nine member body, which was to include five members within

commuting distance of headquarters (Chicago) and four others, hopefully from other areas of the country. On July 21 the outgoing NEB formally opened nominations. Outgoing board members Seymour Stedman and Debs both declined nomination, the former seeking to better dedicate himself as secretary of the campaign committee of the latter.