MINUTES OF NATIONAL COMMITTEE PLENUM

August 14, 1976

Convened at 2:30 P.M. by Sheppard.

Motion: That Horowitz chair the plenum.

Carried.

Attendance:

Barnes, Barzman, Britton, Camejo, Chertov, DeBerry, Regular: Dixon, Garza, Halstead, Hawkins, Horowitz, D.Jenness, L. Jenness, Jones, Lovell, Lund, Lyons, Miah, Morell,

Morrison, Ring, Rodriguez, Scott, Seigle, Shaw, Sheppard, Stapleton, Stone, Thomas, Waters, Weinstein,

Wohlforth

LaMont, Benson, White, Foley, Evans, Jaquith, Alternates: Roberts, Matson, Henderson, Manuel, Seidman, Finkel, Brundy, Mackler, Smith, Washington, McBride, Markey,

Warren, Wright, Heisler, Musa, Harris, Ariza

Control Commission: Stewart

Motion: To adopt the following agenda:

- Matters Referred to National Committee by the Convention
- 2. Election of the Political Committee
- Party Campaign Against Government Harassment

Carried.

1. MATTERS REFERRED TO THE NATIONAL COMMITTEE BY THE CONVENTION

Waters reported.

Motion: To refer to the Political Committee the editing and publishing of the reports and resolutions from the convention and the report of the Constitution Committee.

Carried.

2. ELECTION OF THE POLITICAL COMMITTEE

Barnes proposed a Political Committee of 21 members; 20 to be elected by the National Committee and one to be chosen by Barnes' nominees are the same Political Committee as the YSA. current one with the exceptions of comrades who have moved to take local and branch assignments outside the New York area.

Barnes nominates: Barnes, Blackstock, Breitman, Camejo, Garza, Horowitz, D. Jenness, L. Jenness, Jones, Lovell, Lund, Lyons, Miah, Seigle, Shaw, Sheppard, Stapleton, Stone, Thomas, Waters

Motion: That the Political Committee consist of 21 members including a representative from the YSA.

Carried.

No further nominations

Motion: To elect the nominees.

Carried.

3. PARTY CAMPAIGN AGAINST GOVERNMENT HARASSMENT.

Stapleton reported on recent developments in our suit.

Discussion

Plenum adjourned at 3:17 P.M.