NATIONAL COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

YOUNG SOCIALIST ALLIANCE

Oberlin, Ohio, August 10-11, 1976

Full NC members present:
Archer, Bailey, Baron, Barrera,
R. Berman, S. Berman, Bivins,
Bride, Brown, Brdar, Dork, Eagan,
Farley, Fox, Freiwirth, Friedman,
Fuchs, Gersh, Green, Linder, Loew,
Lubrano, Mailhot, McCutcheon, Petrin,
Robohm, Rosenstock, Soares, Taber,
Williams, Winsten, Zarate

Alternate NC members present: Chase, Hart, Scott, Stallworth

Consultative delegates present:
Aktab Fardar, Athans, Austin, Biback,
Brooks, Brudno, Burke, Cohen, Crown,
Davey, Davis, Douglas, Elliot,
D. Ellis, G. Ellis, Farnsworth,
Feather, Ferguson, Fisher, Freeman,
Garza, Geary, Gonzalez, Griffith,
Groth, Head, Hennigan, Hickler, Hodrof
Hollenbeck, Husk, Jarosh, Johnson,
A. Julian, T. Julian, Kear, Keepnews,
Kleinman, Kozak, Listopad, Maloney,
Mattson, Merkey, Miah, Morrow,
Murphy, Pessim, Ponaman, Pottinger,
Quintano, Rayson, Robinson, Rodriguez,
Roling, Ryan, Sedwick, Shadden, Sheets
Shur, Simpson, Smith, Souweino,
Swanson, Tortorici, VanDerslice,
Wagner, Wald, G. White, J. White, Zins

CONVENED TUESDAY, August 10, 1976 at 6:00 p.m.

Motion by Farley: That Dork chair the plenum.

Carried

I. ORGANIZATION AND RULES

Farley presented the following motions for the National Executive Committee:

Motion: To adopt the following agenda:

- 1. Organization and rules
- 2. Convention Call
- 3. Political Resolution Report

4. Election of the National Executive Committee

Carried

Motion: To adopt the following procedural rules:

- 1. In case of procedural disputes, discussion shall be limited to one speaker for the motion and one speaker against.
- 2. A speaker may have the floor only once in the discussion until everyone who wants to has had the opportunity to speak.
- 3. Discussion presentations shall be limited to seven minutes per speaker.
- 4. Voting shall be done by voice vote unless a division of the house is called for. Then the vote shall be taken by a show of hands.
- 5. National office staff members, YSA organizers, and YSA regional organizers who are not members of the National Committee shall be invited to attend the plenum with voice and consultative vote.
- 6. Observers shall be members of organizations of our international co-thinkers and special guests.

Carried

II. CONVENTION CALL

Reporter: Gersh

Discussion: McCutcheon, Farnsworth, Chase, Stallworth, Gersh

Motion: To amend the convention call to change the dates of the YSA convention to December 31 1976 - January 2, 1977.

Vote:

Full -- Unanimous Alternate -- Unanimous Consultative -- Unanimous

Carried

III. POLITICAL RESOLUTION REPORT

Reporter: Petrin

Discussion: Wagner

Request by Wagner for a 30-second extension.

Granted

Further discussion: Hodroff, Winsten

Recessed -- 8:00 p.m.

Reconvened Wednsday, August 11, 1976 at 6:00 p.m.

Further discussion: Brdar, Aktab-Fardar, Fox, Husk, R. Berman

Request by R. Berman for a 2-minute extension.

Granted

Further discussion: Friedman, McCutcheon

Motion by Farley: To take eight more speakers and reduce the speaking time to 5 minutes.

Carried

Further discussion: Hart, Gersh

Request by Gersh for a 1-minute extension.

<u>Granted</u>

Further discussion: Rosenstock, Bride, Gonzalez, Fuchs

Request by Fuchs for a 30-second extension.

Granted

Further discussion: J. White, Williams

Summary: Petrin

Motion: To approve the general line of the draft resolution and report.

Vote:

Full -- Unanimous Alternate -- Unanimous Consultative -- Unanimous

Carried

IV. ELECTION OF THE NATIONAL EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Motion by R. Berman: That the NEC consist of: Archer, Bailey, R. Berman, Brown, Gersh, Farley, Linder, Petrin, Williams, Winsten, Zarate

No further nominations.

Vote:

Full -- Unanimous

Carried

ADJOURNED at 8:00 p.m.