#### MINUTES OF NATIONAL COMMITTEE PLENUM

August 11, 1979

Convened by Waters.

Motion: That LaMont chair the plenum.

### Carried.

## Attendance:

- Regular: Bailey, Barnes, Blackstock, Breitman, Britton, Brundy, Camejo, Chertov, Clark, DeBerry, Dixon, C. Garza, Halstead, Hawkins, Horowitz, Jaquith, D. Jenness, Jones, Kramer, LaMont, Leonard, Lovell, Lund, Lyons, Manuel, Miah, Morell, Pulley, Ring, Rodríguez, Seigle, Sheppard, Stone, M. Warren, Waters, Weinstein, Zimmermann
- Alternates: Rose, Ntweng, Prince, Feldman, Shilman, Seidman, Budka, Finkel, Gallo, Foley, Meyers, Evans, Pérez, Studer, Austin, Sedwick, Vásquez, Roberts, Gersh, Singer, Gannon, P. Wright, Lubrano, Mackler, Benson, Markey, McCutcheon, Dawson, Finch, Williams, E. Warren

Control Commission: V. Garza, Glover, Hart, Scheer

Motion: To adopt the following agenda:

- 1. Matters Referred to National Committee by the Convention
- 2. Election of the Political Committee

Carried.

#### 1. MATTERS REFERRED TO NATIONAL COMMITTEE BY THE CONVENTION

Dixon reported.

Motion: To refer to the Political Committee the matters referred by the convention to the National Committee: They are:

- 1) the implementation of the decisions of the Thirtieth National Convention of the Socialist Workers Party and
- 2) the editing and publication of the adopted resolutions and reports in light of the discussion.

Carried.

(over)

# 2. ELECTION OF THE POLITICAL COMMITTEE

Barnes proposed a Political Committee of 19 members; 18 to be elected by the National Committee and one to be chosen by the YSA.

Barnes nominates: Barnes, Britton, Camejo, Clark, Dixon, Hawkins, Horowitz, Jaquith, D. Jenness, Kramer, Lyons, Manuel, Morell, Ring, Rodríguez, Seigle, Stone, Waters

Motion: That the Political Committee consist of 19 members including a representative from the YSA.

Carried.

No further nominations.

Motion: To elect the nominees.

Carried.

Plenum adjourned.