Lissagaray 1876

History of the Paris Commune
of 1871

Translated from the French by Eleanor Marx

Written: Prosper Olivier Lissagaray (1838-1901);
First Published: in French, 1876;
Translated: Eleanor Marx, 1886;
Source: New Park Publications, 1976;
Mark-up: Andy Blunden, 2002.


Publishers Note

Introduction by Eleanor Marx



I. The Prussians enter Paris

II. The coalition opens fire on Paris

III. The eighteenth of March

IV. The Central Committee calls for elections

V. Reorganisation of the Public Services

VI. The mayors and the Assembly combine against Paris

VII. The Central Committee forces the mayors to capitulate

VIII. Proclamation of the Commune

IX. The Commune at Lyons, St. Etienne and Creuzot

X. The Commune at Marseilles, Toulouse and Narbonne

XI. The Council of the Commune wavers

XII. The Versaillese beat back the Commune patrols and massacre prisoners

XIII. The Committee is defeated at Marseilles and Narbonne

XIV. The weaknesses of the Council

XV. The Commune’s first combats

XVI. The Manifesto and the germs of defeat

XVII. Women of the Commune and the opposing armies

XVIII. The work of the Commune

XIX. Formation of the Committee of Public Safety

XX. Rossel replaces Cluseret

XXI. Paris bombarded: Rossel flees

XXII. Conspiracies amongst the Commune

XXIII. The ‘Lefts’ betray Paris

XXIV. The new Committee at work

XXV. Paris on the eve of death

XXVI. The enemy enter Paris

XXVII. The invasion continues

XXVIII. The street battles continue

XXIX. On the barricades

XXX. The Left bank falls

XXXI. The Commune’s last stand

XXXII. The Versailles fury

XXXIII. The fate of the prisoners

XXXIV. The trial of the Communards

XXXV. The executions

XXXVI. The balance sheet of bourgeois vengeance


Author’s Notes

Glossary of French terms

Review by E. Belfort Bax, December 1886


Last updated on 24 May 2023