Mao Zedong

Proclamation of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China


Written: October 1, 1949
Source: Collected Works of Mao Tse-tung (1917-1949), Volume 9
Transcribed: Mao Zedong Reference Archive, 2002
HTML Markup: Mike Bessler

Ever since Chiang Kai-shek's reactionary Kuomintang government betrayed the nation, colluded with imperialism, and launched a counterrevolutionary war, the people of the whole nation found themselves in a situation of deep water and intense heat. To defend the territorial sovereignty of the mother country, to protect the life and property of the people, and to relieve the people of their misery and strive for their rights, our PLA, with the aid of the people of the entire country, disregarded personal safety and fought courageously, thus wiping out the reactionary troops and overthrowing the reactionary control of the National Government. Currently, a basic victory has been won in the people's liberation war, and the majority of the people in the nation have gained liberation. On this foundation, the plenum of the first session of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference, Organized by all the democratic parries and factions, the people's organizations, the PLA, the areas, the minority nationalities, and representatives of Overseas Chinese and other patriotic elements, has been convened. Representing the will of the people of the entire nation, it has formulated the organization law for the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China, elected Mao Tse-tung as chairman of the Central People's Government, Chu Te, Liu Shao-ch'i, Sung Ch'ing-ling, Li Chi-shen, Chang Lan, and Kao Kang as vice chairmen, and Ch'en I, Ho Lung, Li Li-san, Lin Po-ch'u, Yeh Chien-ying, Ho Hsiang-ning, Lin Piao, P'eng Te-huai, Liu Po-ch'eng, Wu Yu-chang, Hsu Hsiang-ch'ien, P'eng Chen, Po I-po, Nieh Jung-chen, Chou En-lai, Tung Pi-wu, Sai Fu-ting, Jao Sou-shih, Ch'en Chia-keng, Lo Jung-huan, Teng Tzu-hui, Wu Lan-fu, Hsu T'e-li, Ts'ai Ch'ang, Liu Ko-p'ing, Ma Yin-ch'u, Ch'en Yun, K'ang Sheng, Lin Feng, Ma Hsu-lun, Kuo Mo-jo, Chang Yun-i, Teng Hsiao-p'ing, Kao Ch'ung-min, Shen Chun-ju, Shen Yen-ping, Ch'en Shu-t'ung, Szu-t'u Mei-t'ang, Li Hsi-chiu, Huang Yen-p'ei, Ts'ai T'ing-k'ai, Hsi Chung-hsun, P'eng Tse-min, Chang Chih-chung, Fu Tso-i, Li Chu-ch'en, Li Chang-ta, Chang Po-chun, Cheng Ch'ien, Chang Hsi-jo, Ch'en Ming-shu, T'an Pling-shan, Chang Nan-hsien, Liu Ya-tzu, Chang Tung-sun, and Lung Yun as committee members to form the Central People's Government Committee, declared the founding of the People's Republic of China, and decided on Peking as the national capital. The members of the Central People's Government Committee took office in the capital today. They unanimously resolved to declare the founding of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China, accept the common program of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference as the policy of the government, mutually elect Lin Po-ch'u as secretary general of the committee, appoint Chou En-lai as premier of the Political Council and minister of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Mao Tse-tung as chairman of the People's Revolutionary Military Commission, Chu Te as commander in chief of the People's Liberation Army, Shen Chun-ju as president of the Supreme People's Court, and Lo Jung-huan as chief procurator of the Supreme People's Procuratorate, and charge them to promptly organize the various government organs and promote all items of government work. The committee also resolved to declare to the governments of all nations that this government is the only legitimate government representing the People's Republic of China and the people of the entire country. This government is willing to establish diplomatic relations with all foreign governments which are willing to follow the principles of equality, reciprocity, and mutual respect of territorial sovereignty. It is so proclaimed.

Mao Tse-tung,
Chairman of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China

Mao Zedong Internet Archive
Back to Reference Archive

Write Mao Zedong Archive Administator