J. V. Stalin

Order of the Day

Addressed to Army-General Chernyakhovsky and Marshal Rokossovsky

July 3, 1944

TROOPS of the 3rd Byelorussian Front, with the support of troops of the 1st Byelorussian Front, as the result of a deep outflanking manœuvre, to-day, July 3, carried by assault the capital of Soviet Byelorussia, the town of Minsk—most important strategic centre of the German defences in the western direction.

In the fighting for the capture of Minsk distinction was won by tankmen commanded by Maj.-Gen. of Tank Troops Burdeiny, Lieut.-Gen. of Tank Troops Obukhov, Marshal of Tank Troops Rotmistrov, Lieut.-Gen. of Tank Troops Rodin, Maj.-Gen. of Tank Troops Netsvetailo, Maj.-Gen. of Tank Troops Vovchenko, Maj.-Gen. of Tank Troops Fominyk, Col. Lossik, Col. Bulygin, Col. Nesterov, Lieut.-Col. Antipin, Col. Gritsenko, Lieut.-Col. Yessipenko, Col. Pokhodzeyev, Col. Dolganov, Lieut.-Col. Mishchenko, Lieut.-Col. Molchanov, Lieut.-Col. Kumossov, Col. Morozov, Col. Tsinchenko, Maj.-Gen. of Tank Troops Bakharov and Maj.-Gen. of Tank Troops Panov; Cavalry formations of Kuban Cossacks commanded by Lieut.-Gen. Pliyev, Maj.-Gen. Tutarinov, Maj.-Gen. Golovsk and Col. Poprikailo; Troops commanded by Lieut.-Gen. Glagolev, Col.Gen. Galitsky, Col.-Gen. Batov, Lieut.-Gen. Luchinsky, Lieut.-Gen. Koshevoi, Maj.-Gen. Provalov, Maj.-Gen. Berestov, Maj.-Gen. Strizhenko, Col. Polevik, Col. Dudka, Col. Kovtunov and Col. Klimakhin; Artillerymen commanded by Lieut.-Gen. of Artillery Barsukov, Maj.-Gen. of Artillery Semin, Maj.-Gen. of Artillery Vladimirov, Maj.-Gen. of Artillery Sazonov, Col. Lubman, Col. Fedotov, Col. Khasin, Major Stepanov, Major Zotov, Lieut.-Col. Pytalev, Major Mikhailov, Lieut.-Col. Mayorov, Major Sereda and Col. Belyakov; Airmen commanded by Col.-Gen. of Aviation Khryukin, Col.-Gen. of Aviation Rudenko, Lieut.-Gen. of Aviation Ushakov, Lieut.-Col. of Aviation Beletsky, Lieut.-Gen. of Aviation Savitsky, Lieut.-Gen. of Aviation Loginov, Lieut.-Gen. of Aviation Georgiev, Lieut.-Gen. of Aviation Tupikov, Lieut.-Gen. of Aviation Nestertsev, Maj.-Gen of Aviation Volkov, Maj.-Gen. of Aviation Schetchikov, Maj.-Gen. of Aviation Buyansky, Maj.-Gen. of Aviation Zakharov, Maj.-Gen. of Aviation Andreyev, Col. Prutkov, Col. Zimin, Col. Vassilyev, Col. Skok, Lieut.-Col. Rodin, Col. Yurin, and Major Maximov; Sappers commanded by Lieut.-Gen. of Engineering Troops Baranov, Col. Pronevich, Col. Isupov and Col. Fedorov; Signallers commanded by Col. Belyshev, Col. Minin and Lieut.-Col. Geller.

To commemorate the victory the units and formations which particularly distinguished themselves in the fighting for the capture of Minsk will be recommended for conferment of the name “Minsk” and award of Orders.

To-day, July 3, at 22.00 hours (Moscow time) the capital of our Motherland, Moscow, in the name of the Motherland, will salute with 24 artillery salvoes from 324 guns our gallant troops which captured or assisted in the capture of Minsk.

For excellent military operations I express my thanks to all the troops under your command which took part in the fighting for the capture of Minsk.

Eternal glory to the heroes who fell in the struggle for the freedom and independence of our Motherland!

Death to the German invaders!

J. Stalin
Supreme Commander-in-Chief
Marshal of the Soviet Union