MIA: Subjects: India : Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (People's War)



Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist) People's War, usually called People's War Group (PWG), was an underground communist party in India. The party was founded in Andhra Pradesh in 1980, by Kondapalli Seetharamaiah and Dr. Kolluri Chiranjeevi.  The party had its roots in the Andhra Committee, Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist), which had broken away from the Central Organising Committee, Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist) in 1976. The new party was formed by the merger of the Andhra Committewith the Kothandaraman grouping in Tamil Nadu. Muppala Lakshmana Rao ('Ganapathi') was the general secretary of the party.

The PCPI (M-L)-People's War was a member of the Coordination Committee of Maoist Parties and Organisations of South Asia (CCOMPOSA).

The People's War Group merged with the Maoist Communist Centre on 21 September 2004 to form a new party, the CPI (Maoist).


n.d.: Caste Question in India - Our Perspective