Lenin Collected Works: Volume 5: Preface by Progress Publishers

Lenin Collected Works:
Volume 5

Preface by Progress Publishers

Volume Five contains Lenin's works written between May 1901 and February 1902. These include articles and notes published in Iskra: “Where To Begin”, “Another Massacre”, “A Valuable Admission”, “The Lessons of the Crisis”, “The Serf-Owners at Work”, “Fighting the Famine-Stricken”, “Party Affairs Abroad”, “A Talk with Defenders of Economism”, “Demonstrations Have Begun”, “Political Agitation and 'The Class Point of View'", and others. In these articles Lenin deals with the most important events in Russian domestic affairs and throws light on the concrete tasks of building the Party and of the class struggle of the proletariat.

In the article “The Persecutors of the Zemstvo and the Hannibals of Liberalism”, published in Zarya in December 1901, Lenin elaborates the tactics of the Marxist party of the proletariat in relation to the liberal bourgeoisie.

"The Agrarian Question and the 'Critics of Marx'" expounds and develops the Marxist theory of the agrarian question and is a critique of the Russian and international revisionists.

This volume also contains Lenin's What Is To Be Done? the theoretical premises of which laid the foundations of the ideology of the Bolshevik Party.

Seven of the works of Lenin to be found in this volume are included in the Collected Works for the first time. Of these, three are notes published in Iskra: “A Zemstvo Congress”, “On a Letter from 'Southern Workers'", and “Reply to 'A Reader'". The other four documents are: “Speech Delivered on September 21 (October 4, new style)" [Lenin's speech at the “Unity” Conference of the R.S.D.L.P. organisations abroad on September 21 (October 4), 19011, “The Journal Svoboda”, “On the Twenty-Fifth Anniversary of the Revolutionary Activity of G. V. Plekhanov”, and “Anarchism and Socialism”. These four items appeared in print only after the October Revolution.

Previous | Next
Lenin Collected Works | Lenin Internet Archive